UnCategorized The Auburn Tigers men’s basketball program is the college basketball program that represents Auburn University, competing in the Southeastern Conference. The program began in 1905. Though they generally play under the shadow of the football program, the Tigers have had successes on the hardwood. Notably, the program is known for alumni such as Charles Barkley and Chuck Person. Auburn’s all-time record on the hardwood is 1218-1060. There have been 19 Auburn Basketball coaches since the program was started in 1905 by Mike Donahue. Donahue roamed the Tigers’ sidelines for the next 16 years and also served as Athletic Director, football coach, baseball coach, and track coach while at Auburn. The school’s all-time winningest coach was Joel H. Eaves, who was also a former Tiger basketball player and part-time football coach while leading the basketball program. Assisted by later-head coach Bill Lynn, he guided the Tigers to their first SEC title in 1960 and coached for 14 seasons at The Plains. Ralph "Shug" Jordan (pronounced JURD-an) was the winningest football coach at Auburn and also coached the basketball team for 10 seasons, compiling a record of 95-77 (.552). The university’s Jordan-Hare Stadium is named in his honor. Tony Barbee was named the head coach of the men’s basketball team on March 24, 2010. He was formally introduced the following day in Auburn Arena. Barbee previously coached at the University of Texas at El Paso, and he also served as an assistant at the University of Memphis under Kentucky head coach John Calipari. He lead the Miners to the 2010 Conference USA championship and was named the 2010 Conference USA coach of the year. His cumulative record at UTEP is 68-35. In addition to its rich tradition in team accomplishments, numerous individual athletes began their careers at Auburn and went on to achieve worldwide recognition.From 1982-1984 Charles Barkley dominated the courts in the SEC. The former 1984 NCAA player of the year was a member of the "Dream Team" that captured the Olympic gold medal in 1992 and 1996. He was also the 1993 NBA league MVP and a member of 11 All-Star teams. Other famous Auburn hoopsters include current NBA hoopsters Marquis Daniels of the Indiana Pacers, Moochie Norris of the Houston Rockets and Wesley Person of the Denver Nuggets. Former Auburn stars such as Jamison Brewer, Bobby Cattage, Marquis Daniels, Matt Geiger, Adam Harrington, Cedrick Hordges, Eddie Johnson, Darrell Lockhart, John Mengelt, Mike Mitchell, Chris Morris, Moochie Norris, Mamadou Ndiaye, Myles Patrick, Chuck Person, Wesley Person, Stan Pietkiewicz, Chris Porter, Pat Burke and Aaron Swinson have gone on to play professional basketball after leaving The Plains. The SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament (often simply the SEC Tournament) is the conference championship tournament in basketball for the Southeastern Conference (SEC). It is a single-elimination tournament and seeding is based on regular season records. The winner receives the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA basketball tournament. Auburn has won the SEC Tournament only once, in 1985 under coach Sonny Smith. Beard-Eaves-Memorial Coliseum, a 10,500-seat multipurpose arena, was home to the Auburn men’s and women’s basketball teams. The building’s exterior is primarily nondescript concrete, but its entry plaza is recognizable for the large "War Eagle" statue which also faces not only the rest of the university, but also nearby Jordan-Hare Stadium. Auburn boasted an impressive 198-73 record over the past 20 seasons, and a 285-135 overall record at Beard-Eaves Coliseum. Only five times in the 34-year history of the Coliseum has Auburn experienced a losing record at home. Auburn’s 30-game homecourt winning streak from the 1997-98 season to the final game of the 1999-2000 season is the longest in Coliseum history. It was the nation’s second longest current winning streak at the time and the second longest home winning streak in Auburn history. On June 29, 2007, Auburn announced plans to build a new basketball arena and practice facilities that will be completed by the 2010-11 season. The new arena, officially known as Auburn Arena, will offer a state of the art, intimate environment for the Auburn team, with a seating capacity of 9,600. About the Author: 相关的主题文章:

Similar Posts